Commissioner Kitchen elected to serve as Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council Vice-Chairman

Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council(TBRPC) 2018 Board of Directors took the Oath of Office on Monday, December 11, 2017 in Tampa. Left to Right, Citrus County Board of County Commissioners Chairman Ronald E Kitchen, TBRPC Vice Chair; Councilor Bob Matthews, City of Seminole, TBRPC Nominating Committee Chair; Vice Mayor Patrick Roff, City of Bradenton, TBRPC Immediate Past Chair; Commissioner Janet Long, Pinellas County, TBRPC Chair; Ms. Barbara Sheen Todd, Gubernatorial Appointee for Pinellas County and Immediate Past President of the Florida Association of Regional Council’s Policy Board and Mayor Bob Minning, City of Treasure Island, Chair of the Council’s Agency on Bay Management.

Chairman of the Citrus County Board of County Commissioners, Ronald E. Kitchen, Jr. has been elected to serve as the 2018 Vice-Chair for Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council (TBRPC) at their 55th Annual Meeting in December 2017.

In 2015, Citrus County became a member of the TBRPC and elected Commissioner Kitchen to represent the county on the TBRPC. Kitchen was elected to the Citrus County Commission in 2014 and prior to that served as Mayor of the City of Crystal River for 10 years.  He serves on the TBRPC’s Executive/Budget Committee and the Legislative Committee.  He is also a member of the Hernando/Citrus Metropolitan Planning Organization, the Tampa Bay Area Regional Transit Authority (TBARTA), and is a member of the Citrus County Tourist Development Council.

“It is a great honor to represent Citrus County as an officer on the TBRPC board.” said Kitchen. “The TBRPC is a dynamic group of elected officials and others that come together to share information and to work on areas of regional concern. Given the fact that Citrus County is one of the newest and the smallest member of this six county regional board I was greatly humbled by my selection to this position.”

Commissioner Janet Long, Pinellas County has been elected as the 2018 TBRPC Chairperson. It is the TBRPC policy to rotate up their officers and as a result we anticipate Commissioner Kitchen serving as Chair in 2019.

The Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council is Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco and Pinellas counties and the 21 different municipalities who regularly come together to discuss complex regional issues; develop strategic regional responses for resolving them; and build consensus for setting and accomplishing regional goals. The Council is made up of 27 elected officials who serve annual terms, 13 gubernatorial appointees who serve three-year terms, and 4 Ex-Officios (FDOT District 7, FDEP, SWFWMD and Enterprise Florida). The Council was established by the local governments of the Region in 1962 and operates a number of programs and services for regional planning and economic development designed to satisfy the needs of its local governments, encourage regional cooperation, and foster the healthy and orderly growth of the Region. For more information, visit

Leave a Reply